Current Programme

We welcome newcomers and those returning after a time of no contact. In all cases contact the task-leader of the work day beforehand to let them know that you are coming and to discuss requirements of the work and how to get there. The task-leader will work out arrangements for a lift with you if needed. Descriptions of and directions to the various sites can be found on our work sites page.

 

CHICHESTER CONSERVATION VOLUNTEERS CURRENT PROGRAMME

Immediately below are the contact details of the leaders for this programme.

Scott Robertson         01243 552113 or 07815 021331

Richard Wilson          01243 528056

Ian Godfrey                  01243 782501 or 07746 749047

Claire Wilton               01243 788833 or 07952 054239

Alan Walker                 01243 825091 or 07539 090509

 

Sunday 16th September Leythorne Meadow. Hay raking and stream clearance. Wildlife Trust site of chalk steam meadow. Task-leader: Richard Wilson.

Sunday 30th September Levin Down for the first time this season. Our joint project with Sussex Wildlife Trust volunteers. Led by Bill Young. Will established CCV volunteers be sure to contact Bill beforehand in preparation?

Sunday 14th October Levin Down. Leader: Bill Young.

Sunday 21st October Lavington Common. A good heathland habitat where we are keeping back the encroachment of birch and pine. Scrub clearance. Task-leader: Richard Wilson.

Sunday 28th October Levin Down. Leader: Bill Young.

Friday 2nd November 2pm Committee meeting at Claire’s.

Sunday 11th November Levin Down. Leader: Bill Young.

Sunday 18th November The Furze. A pleasant woodland reserve where we will be sawing up and stacking or burning timber felled during previous days by SWT staff. There may be reason for some coppicing as well. Task-leader: Alan Walker supported by Peter Etheridge.

Sunday 25th November Levin Down. Leader: Bill Young.

Sunday 2nd December Lavington Plantation. Scrub Clearance with a National Trust ranger. Task-leader: Scott Robertson.

Thursday 6th December Christmas meal. It is thought it would be good to seek a booking at the Lion as last year. Event organiser: Alan Walker.

Sunday 9th December Levin Down for the last session before Christmas. Leader: Bill Young.

Sunday 16th December Heyshott Down. Clearance and burning up for the Murray Downland Trust. A reserve which has some exceptional orchids and more rare butterflies. Task-leader: Scott Robertson.

    

Comments are closed.